career, random

Tua sebelum waktunya

I just got an e-mail telling me that a guy I know has recently been selected to be part of the team driving an economic growth corridor, a recently unveiled plan to eradicate poverty. This guy is my age and he works for a plantation/real estate company which had just merged with other plantation/real estate organisations.

Well, congratulations to him. I’ve met and spoken to him. He seems like an intelligent guy. After all, he graduated from an American Ivy League.

I am happy for him, a little envious too actually because … well, because he’s my age and he’s doing all these “important” things for the country. It makes me question what I AM doing for my country.

But at the same time, I DON’T envy him. Why? Because this guy, when he speaks, sounds like he is 40 years old. He also looks at least five years older than his actual age. It’s great that he has achieved this much at such a young age – making the big bucks – but does he have to age that fast as well?

Okay, so maybe I am being judgemental. Who knows, he could actually be a fun-loving guy who enjoys watching Prison Break or CSI. But I am not sure if he actually HAS the time to watch all that. Probably too busy playing golf or having meetings at starbucks. But I’m sure he lepaks at mamak stalls too, talking politics and work, NOT last night’s tv show. 😛

But congratulations again to him. I’m sure he’ll do a great job. Glad it’s him shouldering that responsibility and not me. Am not envious of him at all…Nope, not the slightest bit. I am happy just to have a chance to live my day-to day existence and taking part in all the karaoke contest that I am eligible for 🙂

Leave a Reply

