friends

The day I nearly lost my ring

Yes, I nearly lost my ring two days ago. Yes, it is THE ring. My wedding ring. The only ring that I wear constantly.

I so carelessly put in on the counter in the women’s toilet as I was washing my hands. I was distracted because I had to answer some calls when I was in the toilet AND rush to a farewell lunch (for a colleague) across the street. The lunch was at 12.30pm and a good two hours have passed before I realised that it was missing. I was talking to my neighbour at the office. I was talking and talking and playing with my ring – only that ring wasn’t there!

I rushed to the toilet, found it was no longer there. So I asked the cleaners if they saw anything – they didn’t – and then I got my colleague to put up an announcement on our Intranet, pleading to anyone who saw it to return it to me.

But I knew that if someone had found it and that the person is a staff with Internet access, she would have already put up an announcement. But no one put up any notice.

I tried to stay calm but it was hard especially when I had to stay focused on completing an article that was due that day itself. Yeah, great timing suzie – losing such a valuable item when you’re meeting a deadline.

I didn’t cry. I just felt numb and extremely guilty when Faridz called me several times to update me on the the latest thing he has done to “beautify” the car. But I didn’t want to tell him until I was certain that the ring was gone, history.

But I wasn’t going to give up THAT easily. My last attempt was to put up two “missing ring posters” in the toilet – one in BM and another in English – which I personally think is a brilliant move *lol* If the cleaner had taken it but she can’t read English, how is she to know that I was looking for it, right?

It must have worked because, alhamdulillah, two cleaners came round to ask for me. One of them had found it when she was cleaning the toilet around 1pm.

I must go and see her again, maybe tomorrow, to personally thank her and give her a small token. I think I just got an idea what I should give and I know just the people to go and get it from.

Oh, before I forget, I want to thank EVERYONE who showed their support. I truly appreciate it. I love you all!

powered by performancing firefox

Leave a Reply

