stupid people

Seriously, get a life!

This year is my sixth year as a rep0rter. I’ve met a whole list of characters in my line of work so I shouldn’t be shocked when I come across publicity-crazy and vain people in my daily duties. But this phone call that I got just now takes the grand prize for most perasaan and gila glamour categories combined.

It was from a lady who handles the publicity for a top aud1t1ng firm in the country pertaining an article I wrote which included one of the top guys at her company.

The conversation went something like this….

Lady: Hi! Just to check if the story is coming this weekend.
Me: Yep, it still is.
Lady: So, you have incorporated (into the story) the bits I e-mailed earlier?
Me: Yep.
Lady: So, the story will appear with quotes AND his picture?
Me: (Rolling my eyes) Yezzzz.
Lady: That’s all I wanted to know. Thanks.
Me: Yeah, thanks for calling.

Conversation ended.

Got ah people like this? Well, maybe in the past this guy was always quoted in stories WITHOUT his picture. So he is probably DYING to see his picture in the newspapers. Well, I’ve got a few words for you: GET A FREAKING LIFE!

This is why I can never be a PR person for a company because I’d be too embarrassed to call up someone and ask whether the article about me will feature “my quotes – that I insist on being included/used – and my PICTURE”.

Lawak kan?

Leave a Reply

