cartoon

Jem is excitement, Jem is adventure…

After searching high and low, I finally found the mp3 for the theme song of my favourite childhood cartoon series ever – Jem and the Holograms. Seronoknya!

I found it on this website, which also has theme songs from other 80s cartoon series. There are theme songs for Punky Brewster, Out of This World (remember the half-human, half-alien girl who can stop time just by pointing her index fingers together?), Inspector Gadget (come in Wayne!) and a lot more. Go and check it out!

So now when any random number calls my phone, I’ll hear Jem and the Holograms. Cool, huh? Hehehehe… I am so lame 😛

But if you check the Internet, you will see that I wasn’t the only girl who thought Jem and her pals were cool.

It surprised me to know how big that show really was. When I searched for the show using Yahoo!, I found that people actually posed questions about Jem and the Holograms on Yahoo! Answers. Not just women but men have responded to the questions 😛

To be honest, I don’t remember much about the show. I vaguely remember how the cartoon characters look like or what songs they sang. All I know is the show rocked! Otherwise, why would I work so hard to look for the mp3 of the theme song?

It’s a pity that there are no repeats of Jem and the Holograms on TV now. I love Dexter’s Lab and Power Puff Girls as much as the next person, but they don’t really compare to Jem. Sure, Jem had weird, sometimes garish 80s make-up and big, prom-queen/member of KISS band hair but the show was cool because of the music they played. The songs were short but they wre catchy and certainly not kiddish.

I don’t think any of the cartoon series on Nickelodeon or Disney today have anything similar to Jem simply because the characters don’t break into songs every so often. I miss that.

I miss 80s shows for their “innocence”. Everything was exciting then, everything seemed like a novelty, everything was unpretentious. But now, even the cartoon characters seemed bored and jaded.

Part of the fun of growing up in the 80s was definitely the tv shows. TV was really cool back then – from the cartoons to the sitcoms and the game shows.

Who can forget shows like Who’s The Boss? (and not wish they were as cute as/had a girlfriend as cute as Alyssa Milano), The Huxtables (Theo was so blur but adorable), $1,000,000 Chance of a Lifetime (Give me an “M”….toooing…troot toot- toot, troot toot-toot), Small Wonder, Mind Your Language, V, Oshin etc.

Ah, well… I’m sure kids today will say the same when they reminisce about shows like Amazing Race, Pimp My Ride, Power Puff Girls, The OC, One Tree Hill in 15 years to come.

Anyway, can’t wait for someone random to call me on my phone! 🙂

“Jem is excitement,
Ooo…Jem is adventure, Ohhh
Glamour and glitter, fashion and fame,
Jem is truly outrageous, truly, truly, truly outrageous.
Wowo Jem, the music’s contagious, outrageous,
Jem is my name, no one else is the same,
Jem is my name…”

2 thoughts on “Jem is excitement, Jem is adventure…”

  1. Hi Suzie.. I’ve tried to click on your jem.mp3 link, but unfortunately it’s not working.

    I am one of the Jem fan as well. 🙂 Please send me the right link so that i can show it to my friends..

    Thanks

  2. Nice thoughts. It was an interesting time. But some of the stuff displayed in the show really was exciting. Holograms! Come one, holograms! 😉 I would like to see it broadcast to a new generation on cable perhaps. The DVD’s are out, but they do not reach out like broadcast.

    I have had Jem on the brain of late since I was working on a take for my site. (Yes, as you said, both men and women like Jem.)

    Here is my take on it with lots o’ pics if you are interested.

    http://fortresstakes.wordpress.com/2009/07/19/jem-and-the-holograms-1985-1988-65-episodes/

Leave a Reply

