Uncategorized

I wish I was on holiday

As of yesterday, I can officially say that I have been to all of the 14 States in Malaysia. I completed the circle yesterday when I went to K.Tganu.

It was for a t*m assignment where I had to interview some students (and a lecturer) who were taking part in a t*m csr programme for unemployed grads. The students stay in ma*rang for a 28-day full immersion/intensive communication programme that was designed to help them become more confident English speakers.

The assignment itself took only a couple of hours. But since the 4.55pm flight back was fully booked, me and the girl who accompanied me had no choice but to go back on the 9pm flight. We arrived in KL at 10pm. I had a 10am meeting at u*p*m this morning. *Groan*.

Well, back to Tganu. From the little that I saw, it’s as beautiful as I imagined it to be. It was bright and sunny yesterday – a bit hot too – and the sea looked inviting. For a while, I wished I was on a holiday there.

For lunch, we were taken to one of the few “Indian” restaurants in KT. The one we went to is run by a Malay family (I think). It was something like n1rwana m@ju – you eat on banana leaves and someone is there to pour your your dhal etc – except that the guy or girl serving your is Malay. In fact, all of the workers are Malay. Only in KT!

I noticed many of the men are either wearing a kopiah or songkok. Most of the women wear tudung. But they were friendly.

But I think I was more intrigued by the non-Malays in Tganu than the Malays.

I found it so fascinating that KT has its own Chinatown. The narrow road along Chinatown reminded me of this old township in Nara, Japan. At the end of Chinatown was the famous pasar P@yang. We noticed a white masjid close to the pasar. I think Tganu is big on white.

I managed to buy my mom and two of my sisters’ batik tganu. I also bought keropok (tak sah kalau tak beli!).

The next time I go to Tganu, it would have to be with my husband. I don’t think he’s been there. Yes, we should go there…

Leave a Reply

