dinner, teen

Dinner meetings and bratty teens

First up, Just!n T!mberlake’s songs are annoyingly catchy. And when is he going to lose his pre-adolescent voice? He sounds like a teenage boy. It’s cute sometimes but mostly just weird.

Anyway, it’s late but I am not the least bit sleepy. I’m full and satisfied. Why? My husband and I had good company for dinner tonight.

My husband had a dinner meeting with the p*r of the hotel located opposite of BTS in Jln Imb!. The p*r guys has only been the p*r for just a little over 2 months and was eager to “learn” more about working with the n*s*t. So, he invited my husband for dinner and told that he could bring a guest.

Well, for free dinner, I guess we were more than happy to sit down and explain how the whole process works :).

But I’m glad I went along because at least I was there to give that essential editorial input. So back at the hotel, my husband and I were like the Mr and Mrs Sm!th of the advtsg/mktg/editorial line *hehehehe* totally selling the newspaper. The things we do for this company… *sigh*.

It was a fruitful meeting to say the least. I wish more business meetings went on like the one we had earlier.

Anyway, went we got home, I managed to catch the tail end of lagun@ b3ach on mtv. I have never caught that show in full but from the little that I saw, it was oklah…

But hey, I have a thing for teen soaps, so I may be biased. My favourite Astro channels are actually 60 (Disney), 61 (Nickelodeon), 70 (Star World), 71 (MTV), 72 (Channel V) and 17 (AXN). Although I am up for watching a lot of teen dramas, I was never really into One_Tree_Hill or 0C.

Come to think of it, I wasn’t a big fan of BH90210 either. But because I bought TeenBeat etc religiously, I knew all the characters’ names by heart including the tried-so-hard-to-pretend-to-be-a-teen-but-failed-miserably Andrea.

Don’t get me wrong. I love Discovery and NG too but after a long day at work, you kind of need escapism. Nothing works as good for me as the six channels.

One of my favourite teen-related show is actually My Super Sweet 16 (or at least I think that’s what it’s called…). I love seeing the rich brats throw tantrums to get things done their way. I don’t get to watch it often but I enjoy every episode that I manage to see.

The part that I like best about those shows is when uninvited kids try to crash the party. I mean, WHAT FOR? Your not invited so deal with it.

But noooo, they try their best to get into the “cool” party and end up being chased away. Sooooo embarrasssing ok?!

But I guess when you’re 16, being invited to and seen at THE party of the YEAR is the BIGGEST deal. I suppose they’d rather die trying than die of mortification of having to stay at home that night.

In a way, I’m glad my teen years was nothing remotely like what I see on tv.

I was into 4u2c and I wished I was a prefect/pretty/rich/had a boyfriend/brainy/teachers pet etc but never was/had any of the qualities mentioned. But, for a nerd, I think I turned out alright.

Ok. Now I’m feeling sleepy. Time to finish this entry and shut down the laptop. Until tomorrow. Toodles!

Leave a Reply

