home, living abroad, US

Hujan batu

Around Christmas time when I was 9 or 10, I would go to sleep at night wishing that it would snow the next morning. When it didn’t happen, I never gave up and start making another wish for a snowy day before I go to sleep.

Of course, at that age, I didn’t realise how cold winter could be and that people have died in their sleep (of hypothermia) because of poor heating.

It was also something like a childhood ambition of mine to live abroad (the US) and make it good there. I think deep, deep down, I still have that desire in me. Never mind that my husband’s completely happy being in Malaysia and deeply rooted here.

That desire is somewhat challenged by this post written by a young Malaysian mother staying in Seattle. She wrote the entry close to a year ago before she was a mommy.

A friend who has worked and lived for 1.5 years in Brussels whom I met at a rumah terbuka on Saturday said that she can’t wait to be posted back home. She says she will take hujan batu di negara sendiri any day.

I know my home is here. But once in a while, I would have that urge to just abandon all responsibilities here and chase after that “better” life elsewhere.

To be honest, I’d trade places with that friend any day – if I were single, like her. But, I guess, there are always sacrifices to be made for a “better” life anywhere, especially when you’re away from home.

Leave a Reply

