Uncategorized

Did you hear?

I berbuka yesterday with my husband, Princess and a colleague of ours R!dzw@n. Ala-ala double date gitu. (Just kidding!)

Anyway, somehow, our conversation turned to M@rv3l comics and of course, I HAD to mention that I knew a Sarawakian guy from uni who was so crazy about comics and who drew really well. He was a little crazy too, I might add, and he had crazy curly hair.

A few years after we graduated, I read about him in a magazine and he was listed as among the young people to watch out for in the new millennium for working for M@rv3l … or was it DC? I’m not too sure.

But hey, a Malaysian working for M@rv3l and/or DC? That’s something, man!

During berbuka, R!dzw@n happened to mention about a guy (whom someone told him about) who actually went to the States to work for DC or M@rv3l. But the workload was too much for him; impossible deadlines, yadda yadda yadda. So he’s back here in Malaysia now.

I believe we were talking about the same guy because of his association with a certain m@l@y male, owner of the now-defunct klm3nc@rut blog. Remember him?

Once during a movie premier, I saw this m@l@y male waltzing into the cinema with this comic geek guy that I knew from uni. And in this m@l@y male’s personal blog, he says he shares a house with a guy who goes by the name of m!lx.

So, just be to sure, I went to m!lx’s website and I am convinced it IS him. I recognise him from his glasses and his eyes. I remember them because they were light brown, lighter than most Asian’s eyes.

Anyway, it’s a pity that he had to come back to Malaysia. But I’m sure he’s doing fine. He’s very talented.

Whenever I think of him, I would also think of the girl he dated for a while in uni. She was really pretty and her elder sister was in the same matriculation programme I studied.

I wonder if he knew (that the girl he dated) had died?

She died earlier this year. She was riding a motorbike and on her way to work when a senior citizen, who has very poor eyesight, knocked her from behind. She succumbed to internal injuries. She was around 24 or 25 years old.

Leave a Reply

