Uncategorized

Sharing is caring

Just a quick and naughty observation of how territorial people in the workplace can be.

I know this woman in the office who is generally very nice. When we first moved into the office, I noticed that she was among those who made a lot of noise about not having enough phones. I empathise with her because, at this new office, there are five people to a row. So, ideally, there should be at least two phones and/or extensions to a row. The best is one phone to everyone. Right now, only bosses have that privilege. I doubt that’s EVER going to happen to us plebians in this office.

Well anyway, yesterday I noticed a third phone on her row. It appears that she has this new last phone all to herself. I have no idea if its a parallel line or a new extension altogether. But for her sake, I hope its the former.

Why? Because of the way she has positioned the phone. She sits on the far right of the row and the phone is to the right of her PC. It’s literally at the edge of the table. How do you think the person on her left is going to use her phone? She’d have to lift it up from its current position, now won’t she?

I’m probably reading too much into it. But I cannot shake off the feeling that she really is not keen on sharing her phone with anyone else there.

To be fair to her, I also have a phone on my desk. From the way I have positioned it, it would appear that I, too, do not want to share it with other people. But here are my arguments:

[a] I’m in the middle
[b] My line is a parallel line which I have to share with two other people to my left. The other phone is between the two of them
[c] The man on my right is already sharing one phone with his colleague who sits to his right. They come from the same section so it makes more sense for them to share that line, right or not?

On the other hand, I cannot think of any good defence for this colleague of mine. Except for the phone line is a parallel line. Even that isn’t a strong enough defence.

Anyway, I shouldn’t really complain because she has not directly inconvenienced me. But I am still irked by it because… come onlah… we work togethergether what? *Sigh*

To quote TS P. Ramlee: “Suka hati kaulah labu…

Leave a Reply

