Uncategorized

Mistakes in Paycheck

I, or rather, my husband is watching Paycheck (starring Ben Affleck and Uma Thurman) – [I’m writing this blog, so I’m not actually paying much attention on the TV].

We saw this movie in the cinema two years back I think, I really can’t remember — funny because the movie is all about Affleck trying to figure out what he forgot!

What I recall, though, was thinking the movie had promise but didn’t deliver on that promise. There were things that I just didn’t buy. I also remember thinking that Thurman’s acting sucked big time in this film. But that’s my opinion.

Anyhow, watching the movie the second time made me realise one huge, glaring goof about this movie. A goof is basically an error in a movie.

I love imdb.com a lot and I know they include a list of goofs for every movie. So I thought I’d provide a link to all the goofs for the movie here for fun.

To me, the most glaring one is this –> The “checkpoint” from where Michael’s memory was supposed to be erased after finishing his first job is shown in a monitor as him walking with the box under his arm. However, he wouldn’t have this image in his brain, but instead one from his own point of view.

Precisely my point! Actually, all of Affleck’s memories (in this film) have him in it. Well, unless he’s standing in front of a mirror at all times, his memory cannot possibly store images of himself doing things from the POV of another person or camera. Surely our memories can only capture what our eyes can see?

For instance, as I’m typing this, I can only see the screen, my hands typing and whatever is in front of me. I sure can’t see my own face and what’s behind me!

How is it possible that no one in the crew realised this. Or maybe, someone did realise it halfway through but by then it was too late and far too expensive to reshoot.

Maybe!

Anyway, enjoy the goofs!

Leave a Reply

