Uncategorized

Memory I wish I could erase

This is something I needed to get off my chest.

Looking at old photos just now reminded me of a petty, quasy-squabble my husband and my friend’s fiance had the last time they met a few years back.

See, they’re both in the F&B line and having worked in KL, they have quite vast knowledge of the best places to eat in KL.

Hubby being hubby was trying to impress us with his knowledge of the best places to eat in KL. That’s just something that he does. I think it’s kind of cute and innocent.

But apparently my friend’s fiance didn’t think it was cute at all. I think he thought my husband was being a show off. Then, my friend’s fiance started to quiz my husband about all the best places to eat in the Klang Valley. When my husband gave “the wrong answer”, he smirked and said “No… it’s ….”

While I think hubby shouldn’t have taken that opportunity to tunjuk terror, there is also no need for my friend’s fiance to put hubby down like that.

I mean, what was his problem? That was their first meeting and as a social rule, you do not make enemies on your first encounter with someone. If you don’t like them, you just keep it to yourself.

By him quizzing my husband back, it showed that he wanted to “one up” him. Why couldn’t he just be “a better man” and leave the “over-enthusiastic kid who was just trying to impress you with what he just learnt” alone.

Instead of getting annoyed with my husband, I couldn’t help thinking what the hell was my friend’s fiance’s problem was. Instead of sympathising him, I thought he was petty and, honestly, quite an a$$hole.

I guess it’s all in the past now. Both men have probably forgotten the incident. But, I unfortunately have a memory of an elephant. I forgive but I never forget.

So, unfortunately for Mr Fiance, I will forever remember him in a bad light. Well, he brought it on himself…. And you know I don’t hate anyone for no reason.

Leave a Reply

