Uncategorized

Time to let go? Maybe.

It’s the weekends again. Last weekend was spent at home unproductively.

Sure, I spent a lot of time with my husband. But apart from that, I can’t say I did anything that I can really be proud of.

Oh wait, I did spend a lot of time last weekend updating my CV. I believe this would gain the approval of career coaches anywhere. My old CV wasn’t exactly outdated. I mean, it’s not like I have been doing a lot of courses to upgrade my skills or anything. I just decided it was time to make my CV look more professional, you know?

My old CV was, frankly, a little dry. It was short and sweet but also devoid of any character. And it was far from professional-looking.

I figured if I want to impress future employers, I have to create a snazzy and up-to-date CV. Thanks to Princess, I got hold of a sample resume that looks and reads very gempak. I studied it and tailored it to suit my needs.

The CV had got all these jargons that I didn’t really understand. So I went to Monster.com and read up on what makes a good CV. So now I can tell the difference between professional profile and core competencies.

Why am I suddenly making efforts to update my CV? Well, I guess anytime is a good time to do it. But I have to admit that seeing Princess leave the company had something to do with it, too. I’m not saying that I will leave the company soon but I am not planning to stick around forever either.

Let’s just say that I am on the lookout for a better deal out there. I am keen to know what I am worth outside and what else I can do with my life.

Princess is right in saying that, for some of us, reporting is not something that we can just turn our backs on. Given the chance and under better circumstances, a lot of us would come back.

I guess I am at that stage in my career and life where I am ready to make that change. I’m not sick of reporting yet but I could use a break from it. Problem is, I need more than a couple of week’s leave to recover from this blues.

It’s just like that adage, if you love something let it go. If it comes back to you, then it’s meant to be yours. So perhaps I should let go and see where fate leads me. If it leads me back to writing, then I know it was meant to be.

Leave a Reply

