Uncategorized

I cried over a pair of stupid pants

Yesterday, I planned my wardrobe for the whole trip, which exercise videos to bring, where to go etc. Because I want to look smart, I decided I wanted to get something new. SO I went shopping at sunway p yesteryday.

After much deliberation, I decided I’ll settle for a pair of pants. I saw a nice pair of brown tunic kind of pants at factory outlet which costs RM60++. It came in sizes 0, 2,4 and 6. I tried 6 first and found that it was a pretty loose on the waist. But when I tried size 4, while it fit, I looked absolutely horrifying in it. My thighs were so saddle-bag-ish. Needless to say, I didn’t get it.

But it was too late by then. My self-esteem had been dented. It didn’t help that my boyfriend also accussed me of not doing enough squats and plies. Well, he didn’t know what they were called but he said I didn’t do enough legs exercises.

But I didn’t realise how upset I was until I started tearing up while we were queing up at the ATM. My boyfriend thought I was upset over what he said.

I wasn’t mad at him. I was just upset because I had put in a lot of effort to exercise regularly and eat well. The pounds are starting to come off but some body parts just won’t shrink fast enough. That stupid pair of pants drew my attention to my less than perfect thighs and made me feel inadequate compared to girls with thin thighs.

My boyfriend, feeling guilty, tried to cheer me up by going a store which sells clothes in black colour. I didn’t want a pair of black pants, I needed one in brown or khaki.

So we went into parkson and I tried on a pair of size 10 soda exchange pants. It fits me perfectly, makes me look slimmer, too. Most importantly, my thighs do not look gigantic!

At that moment, I felt pretty silly for letting a stupid pair of ill-fitting pants get the better of me. It was a bit long – I am just 5 foot 1 – so I had my boyfriend’s mom alter it. She’s good at sewing. (I wore to the office today with the jacket and tank top that Kamm bought me!)

The icing on the cake is going home to my boyfriend’s place and weighing myself and discovering that I am no more 61kg. I’m 60 kg!!

I’ll never let a pair of pants reduce me to tears ever again!

1 thought on “I cried over a pair of stupid pants”

  1. Silly! I could never fit a size 6 trousers! Oh, how did you feel wearing the cropped jacket? I haven’t worn mine yet as it’s still a bit nippy here! 😦 Really want to break it in as I feel it’s quite stiff.

Leave a Reply

