Uncategorized

SHOPAHOLIC TIES THE KNOT

I have less than 80 days more before my wedding day. Eeek!
Can someone just wake me up when it’s all over? Can I just elope? Just kidding.
I love my boyfriend and I do want to spend the rest of my life with him. But this whole wedding business is a nightmare. I haven’t got a caterer. I haven’t bought the material for my dress, bunga telur, favours etc. I haven’t even attended the kursus kahwin.
To be fair, I have done my research and have made some enquiries. It’s just that I haven’t executed most of my plans.
At least, I have the wedding date confirmed – it’s on April 29. My father has spoken to the juru nikah and he is aware that we need his services on April 29.
My brother knows that I need him to do my makeup and I have e-mailed my friends to ask them to save the date. In fact, I already had them e-mail me their addresses.
Sure, I haven’t got the cards done yet but I’ve picked out one card that is nice and cheap and have asked them company for a quotation.
Just the other day, I e-mailed a wedding photographer to ask for his packages. I doubt I can afford him or that he would be free on that day but there is no harm in asking, is there?
I’d love to have k*dch@n-type of wedding pictures but I just don’t have the budget. That is why I am considering hiring the local pixman to take pictures of me and boyfriend at our “pelamin”. We both agree not to bersanding but there will be a “pelamin” for us to take pictures. It’s going to be really cool. I’m quite excited about that.
I’m going to get some of my relatives to make me a “hut” that is inspired by a flower nursery. I’ll be draping pink clothes over the open “roof”, hanging lampu “lip lap” around the hut and draping small jasmine buds on the backdrop of our “pelamin”. It’ll be simple yet chic.
I’m going to have some fresh flowers as table centre pieces. If it costs too much, then I’ll have to be creative by cutting of the stalks and float the flowers in clear bowls. I’ve seen it in magazines and they look very modern and fresh.
My mother has volunteered to make the bedspread. She made one for herself just last month and it looks quite professional. So, I trust her with it. Besides, she has done our curtains for Hari Raya and they always look good.
What I have to worry about is the budget. I’m still waiting for my “sponsors” to “cash the cheque”. Until then, I am tied up, not able to do much. That’s the problem with not having a special savings for your wedding day.
But I am determined to make the most of whatever budget given to me.
Wedding receptions are merely to announce to the public that “hey, I’m married to this person and you’re invited to join in the celebration”.
It’s not an opportunity to display one’s wealth, which I think many weddings today have become. Thank God my family has none to flaunt in the first place.
Whenever I get stressed out about my wedding preparations, I will remember Karen Valby’s comforting words. Valby, who lost her mother at the age of 18, wrote this in Modern Bride Aug/Sept 2005 issue:
“A wedding is not about details. It is not about the weather or the place settings or the band vs Dj debate. A wedding is about gathering together those in this world who love you, and sharing with them this person yourself to for life.”

Leave a Reply

