Uncategorized

First to depart

I can’t say I saw Eliza’s early departure coming. Firstly, I missed her performance. I only caught it when Yazer was about to sing.

I think she sang wonderfully at the Prelude concert. But to be fair to the voters/viewers, Eliza hasn’t shown us anything worthwhile since her powerful rendition of Kau that got her into the final-list in the first place. I wasn’t THAT impressed by her rendition of Elergi Sepi. But then again, no matter how good she sings, unless she has as many fans as Marsha, Mawie and Felix do, her fate is sealed.

Then again, better her than anyone else right?
Let’s do a little appraisal exercise, shall we?

Ekin:
The girl with the sweetest smile. She has a rare, big vocals. That combined with the nice kebaya have helped her secure her position in the competition, at least for a week more. Who cares if she sucked that night. She can smile her way into the finals.

Marsha:
God forbid that Marsha should be out tonight. How absurd! She’s too cute gedik , remember? Now we can all add vixen and seductress into her list of talents too.
Enough with the sarcasm – I really couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw her flirt like crazy on stage. I was half expecting she would hike up her skirt to show her undergarments like those can can dancers. I’m serious!

Forgive me for sounding very crude. But I watched her intently on stage (well, who didn’t?) and I honestly felt that she had lost her mind. Her body language seem to suggest that either she was (a) an attention-seeking four-year-old (b) a deranged woman or (c) drunk or high on something.

I felt embarrassed FOR her. I hope none of the cikgus had advised her to crank up the seductress factor.

But I must be the only person who feels that way. I’d appreciate if I can have just one person to commiserate with about this. I’d hate to think that jealousy has tampered with my objectivity.

Anyway, I have decided to give her a nickname. I’ll call her Miss New Jersey based on the character in the movie, Miss Congeniality. Need more clue? She’s the one who answered April 25 to the question “Describe your perfect date.”

Mawie:
He has good looks and good vocals to match. But for a multiple musabaqah competition winner, he sure has a big ego! I guess I expected a qari to be a humble person. But what Mawie demonstrated tonight was not an ounce of humbleness. I can tolerate him singing in AF3 – which is pretty hedonistic (hehehe) – and being adored by millions of tudung-clad and free-hair (I believe this is the tudung-clad-speak for non-tudung wearing) girls. But forgetting his lyrics and over acting? Don’t blow your chance, Mawie. It’s not worth being kicked out of the competition because your ego got too big for your head.

Akma:

This is one girl who I know can go to the finals but whose chance will probably be snatched away by a less deserving classmate like Miss New Jersey and Miss Perfect Smiles. Akma has the making of a good singer and entertainer. I’m rooting for her.

Felix:

He is such a funny and talented guy. I wouldn’t mind him being the AF3 valedictorian.

Yazer:

He is the underdog contestant. I didn’t think he could nail “Sejati” but he did it so effortlessly. I have a newfound respect for him.

Geez… there are too many contestants to comment on. Tu lah… ambik lagi 14 orang. I’ll save my comments on them for later. Toodles!

Leave a Reply

