Uncategorized

The big franchise

For the record, I’m not a very big fan of the Star Wars franchise. Sure, growing up in the 1980s, I saw the movies and loved them all. I remember desperately wanting to recreate Princess Lea’s large buns (which girl didn’t?) and wished my parents had named me Lea (as other girls around the world probably did).

But as I grew older, scenes from the trilogy became a blur. I can name quite a number of characters from the movies (including “guest stars” like Jabbar the gigantic toad – he was the scariest monster I had ever seen in a movie) but I can’t tell you what-happened-in-which-movie to save my life. I’d fail miserably in a Star Wars movie trivia for sure.

When Ge*orge Lu*cas created the three prequels, I took an interest which probably lasted 10 minutes. I didn’t see E*pisode 1: T*he Phan*tom Me*nace at the movies (saw it on VCD and have forgotten the storyline altogether) but did go with my brother to see E*pisode 2: At*tack of the Clo*nes. Yo*da totally kicked ass in that one.

I feel quite lucky to be among the first in the country to watch Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith today (Thursday, May 12). The media preview was (almost) a full house. The row where Princess, her beau, Mspillay and me sat was filled with people from the office.

I’m glad to say that Epi*sode 3: Re*venge of the Si*th is the best of the prequel trilogy. If you weren’t impressed with the previous episodes, I guarantee you will be bowled over by this wonderful finale.

Think about it. What would Star Wars fans want to know about most – (a) how Luke and Lea got separated at birth or (b) how “sweet, sweet” Anakin transformed into the dastardly Darth Vader? Surely people want the answers to option B.

And deliver the answers Episode 3 did (hey, I’m speaking like Yo*da!). Watching the movie helped me understand a lot of things about Darth Vader.

Now I know that Darth Vader’s shiny black costume (which used to scare the hell out of kids) is more than a fashion statement. Vader’s life actually depends on his black getup.

What’s more interesting to know is that once upon a time, in a galaxy far, far away Vader was an ambitious man with strong principals. One of the things he wanted most was to grow old with his beloved wife and, together, raise beautiful children. He would do anything, including making a pact with the devil ie the dark force to keep his family together.

In order to do this, he had to betray the very people he pledged loyalty to. He had to kill all jedis including the younglings. I cried when I saw that scene because the audience can feel the pain. I wasn’t the only one who was affected by that scene. Princess covered her face because she couldn’t bear to watch. Many times, I had my to cover my mouth with my hand because I couldn’t believe what was happening. It was that intense. Even if you intend to doze off during the film, don’t EVER miss that scene!

Anakin’s intentions were noble but his means were not. In the end, Anakin ended up losing everything he ever fought for and ultimately became the pawn of the dark force. Hence, the birth of Darth Vader.

The moral of the story, I guess, is that love makes people do crazy things including betray their loved ones and we cannot change the future, especially when it comes to preventing death.

I won’t say anymore because I think I’ve given away too much of the storyline already. Don’t think about it. Just go and see the movie!

Leave a Reply

