Uncategorized

Old songs make me smile

I have forgotten how much I love BSB and their songs.
Last night I stayed up until 12am listening to some old MP3 CDs I bought about five years back. One of them is the complete collection of Backstreet Boys albums – all four of them.
At one point, I grew tired of BSB and thought that they were horrible singers. I qustioned myself for loving them so much. But listening to their songs brought back a flood of good memories.
I can’t believe I forgot how fun some of their songs were. I can’t believe I still remember the words to the songs. I mean, come one, who doesn’t know the words to We’ve Got It Goin’ On and Quit Playing Games With My Heart?
BSB was once upon a time a big hit because they did have some of the best pop songs. Songs like Don’t Want To Lose You Now, I Want It That Way, Missing You, That’s The Way I Like It, Hey Mr DJ (Keep Playin’ This Song), etc were all da bomb.
I’m listening to The Call and I’m thinking, “this is such a good song!” But why didn’t the album sell? This is the same kind of shit that Britney Spears did in her last album and she did well.
Nsync’s partly to blame for BSB’s demise. Nsync came and they propagated their own brand of pop and R&B mix. I have to hand it to them. They had an advantage because Justin and JC were better singers compared to all the BSB boys put together.
When their pop/R&B sound started to latch on, that was the end of pop and BSB.
It’s such a pity that BSB never came to Malaysia (for a concert/tour) when they were at their peak.
It is so ironic that BSB first came to Malaysia literally an unknown group back home in the US. After securing “international superstardom” in Asia, BSB returned home and became a huge success. Seven year on or so, some BSB members came back to Malaysia as hasbeens.
I heard that BSB is coming out with a new album this year. To be honest, I don’t think they can sell. BSB era is over. Nsync should be careful too because its days as a group are numbered.
But I wouldn’t mind getting BSB’s new album, if only to complete my collection.

Leave a Reply

