Uncategorized

NO MORE EXCUSES!

I can’t believe I’ve used lack of space as an excuse not to exercise regularly at home all this while.

I live in a three-bedroom apartment, so space is an issue. Most of the time, I can’t exercise in the living room – which is not very roomy – because my brother likes to sleep in front of the TV. So I can’t exactly exercise there when he’s still sprawled in front of the TV.

I thought I couldn’t exercise in my bedroom either because there is even less room there. My sister’s queen-sized bed, clothes cupboard and dressing table take up most of the space, leaving very little aisle space.

But this morning, I managed to finish a 60-minute belly dancing exercise VCD in my bedroom!

How did I do it? I played the exercise VCD on my sister’s laptop which is placed on the bed. Space was a problem but a bit of creativity did the trick.

I even did some bicep curls to Jojo’s song CD after the VCD. I’m trying to build some muscle and define my really flabby arms.

I desperately need to get fit because I have really put on a lot of weight, especially at the stomach area. I started gaining weight when I was in Japan. At that time, I thought I was “obese”. But looking at the pictures from my Japan trip, I was definitely a whole lot slimmer then. My jeans looked loose and my face looked contoured. I had double-chin then too but in most pictures, my double-chin was contained.

Although I did consume a lot of sushis (all that carb in the sticky rice!) then, I did a lot of physical activities too. We had to walk a lot and climb hundreds of steps to get to the various temples and shrines. To get to the nearest mall, we needed to cycle for about 20 minutes. I think that’s why, altough we consumed a lot of food, we were still within healthy BMIs.

I think I was around 55/6kg then. Now I’m 58. If I’m not careful, I can be 60 or more soon. I don’t think I’d mind the weight gain as long as I could carry it. But at 5 foot 1, carrying the excess weight makes me look a bit pudgy. All of my clothes now are ill-fitting. I don’t really have the money to invest in a new wardrobe. So I’ve got to do something about that.

Since I have discovered that I can actually exercise in the comfort of my own room, I will consider waking a little earlier on some working days to fit in an hour worth of cardio exercise.

Fitness experts recommend at least 30 minutes of exercise, 3-4 times a week. I think doing 1-hour of cardio, 3 times a week is good enough for a gradual get-fit workout plan.

I am more concerned about losing inches than losing weight. As long as I can fit into last year’s jeans again, without my stomach splling out, I’ll be happy.

2 thoughts on “NO MORE EXCUSES!”

  1. When I last saw you, you look alright actually!! But you looked really great when you were in Japan, I must say. I have a problem losing weight too! Do you think it could be because of our age?

  2. I hate to admit it but I think age is catching up with us. All the more reason for us to lead active lifestyles 🙂

    I think I was very, very happy and relaxed when I was in Japan. I missed everyone in Msia, of course, but I had good company there.

    Some of my colleagues have told me that I look just fine. But I know myself better. Before I resumed my “exercise regime” nearly two months ago, I was really out of shape. How do I know? I could actually hear myself breathe when it’s really, really quiet and I snore so loud at night, I wake myself up.

    Now I breathe a whole lot better.

Leave a Reply

