Uncategorized

Tuesday, March 22, 2005 Tis the season to be …….

Tuesday, March 22, 2005

Tis the season to be …. married.

God knows how lazy I am to update this blog. But I feel that it is my responsibility to update my blog. Having a blog is a little like having a pet or a plant. You can’t ignore it and forget to feed it for too long. Because then you’d be very cruel. How can you watch a plant shrivel up and die? How can you watch a pet cat starve and later on die? Can’t imagine? Didn’t think so…

Anyways, I have been up to a lot of things.

For instance, my sister recently got married. She was diijabkabulkan in January to her husband, an Indian muslim from …get this… India. He’s a Malaysian national and has been living in here for the past 8 years or so.

He has some relatives here – they are also from India – and one of them owns a Mamak restaurant in Ampang. He’s a kind man. He showers my sister with a lot of attention and material and he’s not tight-fisted. But as the adage which all single and looking women are familiar with goes, “All good men are taken”. It is particularly true with my bro-in-law. He’s already married and has about 4 kids.

So yes, my sister is a second wife. But she’s not the typical second wife. She’s in her early 40s and her husband is in his late 30s. His first wife is actually younger than him.

It was a bit hard for my family – particularly my parents – to accept my bro-in-law. But after a while, I think they came to terms with the fact that this man loves their daughter and that she’s not getting any younger. What other excuse have they got? She’s too young to get married? She has a whole life ahead of her?

Me? I’m still adjusting to the fact that I now I have two bro-in-laws. I’m happy for my sister because finally at 40-something, she found someone worth settling down with.

So, my sister just got married and my close friend from university had her wedding reception the same day as my sister’s. I feel bad about not being able to turn up. I mean, how would I feel if none of my good friends showed up at MY wedding? That’s my worst nightmare.

But I can’t skip my own sister’s wedding for a friend’s now can I? I mean, this is not the United States where even parents are sometimes not invited to their children’s big day.

I haven’t seen the pictures from her wedding but I heard it was pret-ty grand. There were fireworks etc apparently. Gosh, I only wish for three things: (1) my wedding to be handled by caterers (2) enough cash for a cool honeymoon (3) not to be in a 10-year post-wedding debt just trying to clear of the debt.

Princess told me that her best friend is tying the knot next month. So, another one bites the dust? Looks like it…

2 thoughts on “Tuesday, March 22, 2005 Tis the season to be …….”

  1. I wonder if you ever read the comments?? Anyway, as long as your sis is happy, then everything is fine:) I wish I could attend my friends’ weddings…I have missed soooo many:( PLEASE WHEN YOU SET THE DATE MAKE SURE I CAN MAKE IT! IF NOT ID DIE!!!!

Leave a Reply

