Uncategorized

Baby It’s You

I received three very humourous e-mails from a 14-year-old JoJo fanatic named Shaz today in response to my JoJo article.(To read, click here.

Having to work on Hari Raya Haji, I have to say her e-mails made my day 🙂

The first e-mail goes like this:

Subject: Ur article

“I’ve read ur article about Jojo n i’m interested.. how do u contact her?”

Then came the second one:

Subject: Manners

“I’m so sorry. Where’s my manners.Let me introduce myself.Im Shaz n im 14.”

The last:

Subject: I’m BEGGING you

“Hi,would u tell me how did u contact Joanna?If u call her,PLEASE tell me her no.”

The poor kid!

Of course I had to reply and rid this poor teenager of his/her agony. I told her the truth that I was only given the number of the hotel where she stayed. Even if I gave this kid the number, who knows when JoJo’ll be there next!

When I was a kid, I didn’t have the luxury of the Internet or e-mails to respond to articles which “moved” me. I wrote to Galaxy’s letter’s page once (it was to thank them for running a cover story on Keanu Reeves) and it got published. I was happy as hell!

Ye lah, I was a young teenager with not much of a social life then. I only had Radio 4 and my entertainment magazines – Galaxie, Smash Hits, Big Bopper etc – to keep me entertained. But look at me now. Interviewing JoJo and getting response from lusty teens… hahahahaha.

I think I am seriously juvenile. Not only do I go out with a younger guy but my current favourite singer is a 14-year-old. The book I’m reading now? Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events which I picked up from MPH’s Children’s shelf. Nuff said.

2 thoughts on “Baby It’s You”

  1. Hey, It’s Kam…Ah, the old days…I miss Galaxy! I don’t know who I was always looking for in there then, maybe Blur? Haha! Never knew you wrote them a letter. I used to ring up Radio 4 to ask for some obscure retro songs late at night, hehe. Also, talking about teenage years, I don’t know about you but I used to have tons of penpals and used to blow my weekly allowance on this famous Finnish penpal agency. Did you do that? I know I had at least 15 penpals at one time.
    P.S:read the JoJo article…excellently done! I was so smiley and giddy and excited reading it cos I was reading an article done by YOU!!

Leave a Reply

