Uncategorized

Kinsella has her readers hooked

I finished my Shopaholic Ties The Knot book today. I have to hand it to author Sophie Kinsella. She does know how to keep her readers hooked right to the very last page.

If you need an introduction of the book’s protagonist, Rebecca Brandon nee Bloomwoord, Kinsella has described her perfectly: “Becky has grown into with her person with her own Becky-logic, own extreme behaviour and knack of turning disasters into triumphs!”

Frankly, the dramas in this book can be too tense that I dread to turn the page. I’m afraid to read on for fear of stumbling upon yet another embarrassing hijinks – I must consult the dictionary to find out how I can properly use this term – moment which is so expected of Bloomwood. Just when you think that Becky Bloomwood has everything sorted, she is faced with even more drama and hurdles.

Kinsella’s Shopaholic series is ubiquitous. You can find them in most book stores. If you haven’t read one, I really encourage you to do so.

Personally, I look forward to reading Kinsella’s next book, Shopaholic & Sister. Actually, all of her writings.

In fact, I was very tempted to get the above mentioned book from M*PH when I was at KL Se*ntral this afternoon. But I talked myself out of it because I already have a few books which I haven’t touched (eg. Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Event and Adrian Mole and the Weapon of Mass Destruction.)

So, I’ll have to “re-visit” Becky later.

Leave a Reply

