Uncategorized

I support piracy but only because of Lemony Snicket

Unlike my friend Sh@h, I DO support piracy. Well, not all the time. Just during desparate times and for special movies. In yesterday’s case, I bought Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Movie.

I knew the quality would be appalling but I was too curious to care. I know I’d kick myself later if I didn’t buy it.

BTW, I haven’t finished reading The Bad Beginning yet. But I don’t think watching the movie spoils the book for you. I understand that the plot of the movie comes from the three books but not in a chronological manner. So, how is someone who hasn’t read all of them to know which scene is from which book?

As I am half-way through the first book, I know that the scenes in the first 20 minutes of the film follows the first book to a tee. Especially Count Olaf’s booming “Hello…hello…hello” welcoming the three Beudelaire orphans into his humble abode for the first time.

The first 20 minutes was also, I found, rather dull. I can imagine Malaysian movie watchers shifting uncomfortably in their seats, wondering whether they have made a mistake in buying the tickets to see this movie.

But the movie begins to pick up especially after the “first unfortunate event”.. which I will not divulge here. There are few scenes which will make you want to jump out of your seats, make you want to laugh and make you want to cry. The ending scene involving an undelivered letter made me misty-eyed.

You’ll be impressed by the A-list cast they have in this movie. When I say A-list, think 1980 to 1998, not 1999-2005. Watch the movie and you’ll understand what I mean.

If Jim Carrey’s antiques – he plays the ubiquitous Count Olaf – don’t impress you, knowing that child actor Liam Aiken (Susan Sarandon’s adorable boy in The Step Mom) has grown into quite a fine young man will. Don’t you you think that Emily Browning (last seen as the ghost child in Ghost Ship) is just beautiful. I love her look.

This movie is beautifully shot, creative, intelligent and classy. This is one movie I definitely won’t mind seeing again. I give this movie 4/5.

Leave a Reply

