Uncategorized

A really bad beginning

I finally got my Lemony Snicket books!

I went to MPH Sunway Pyramid today and got two of 11 books. Not that the store has all of them, anyway. The way the books were positioned reflected the significance of the books to Malaysians right now.

The Harry Potter series were on the top of the 4-feet-high shelve. The Series of Unfortunate Events were right at the bottom. I had to sit crossed-legged to have a good look at them.

But I like sitting like that in bookstores. It makes me look like I’m a real bookaholic – sitting hunch-backed and burying my nose in a good (children’s) book. 🙂

Anyways, my excitement about the books died after I discovered that they weren’t as cheap as I had thought them to be. The Bad Beginning was priced at RM35.90, The Reptile Room at RM19.90 and The Carnivorous Carnival at RM28.

When I pointed out the price difference to boyfie, he asked me:”What’s the difference?”

To which I replied:”Exactly. What IS the difference?”

I just don’t get it. Just because The Bad Beginning is the movie-tie-in version, doesn’t give the publishers the right to hike up the price that much!

Really, there is no difference. I mean, both books #1 and #2 look like they are of the same size to me!

The only difference that I can point out is that The (movie-tie-in) Bad Beginning has a new sleeve which has Count Olaf’s note (and autograph) at the back. And that was it.

As much as the price issue irked me, I didn’t bring the issue up with MPH staff. I guess I feared that they would suddenly realise that “Hey, we forgot to put another price tag for the 2nd book. It shouldn’t be RM19.90, it should be RM35.90. Thanks for bringing it to our attention, though!”

I read the book before even leaving Sunway Pyramid. I read it as I was waiting for my 2nd wrap for the day. We stopped by the infamous Wrapz store at Sunway Pyramid next to the escalator with the Maybank ATM. The stall used to be a waffle place. That’s where boyfie’s sisters work part-time.

I’m not a big fan but just now, I tried two… make that three “wraps”. The first is boyfie’s “peanut butter and banana”, the 2nd my own “chicken with cheese and steak sauce” and the last is S*yam*l’s “chicken with cheese”.

That’s why I am still full.

Anyways, I thought of starting on one of my stories for the coming weekend. But I’m kinda tired and sleepy right now. Anyways, aren’t Saturday nights meant for having fun and lounging around?

But if I don’t start now, I’m gonna regret it next week. I better do something about this. Chiao!

Leave a Reply

