Uncategorized

Bittersweet New Year

I just got back from Genting H celebrating NY’s. Boyfie, cousins and friends rented an apartment on the foot of the hill some 20 minutes from the peak.

It rained in Genting, so it was awfully cold up there. I didn’t pack any pants because I thought of travelling light. So I only brought the green Banana Republic skirt I wore to work that morning. I didn’t think we would go out. Actually, I didn’t think at all when I was packing my clothes. Hello!… my skin itches when its cold and I am going to Genting!

So, when we went to First World Plaza that night, I had to borrow J’s stretchy jeans. Thank God for that because I have put on a LOT of weight of late and my own clothes barely fit. That’s partly the reason why I didn’t bring many clothes.

Thank God that J wears the same size pants that I do and that her jeans was part lycra so I was able to fit into the seemingly skinny jeans. I’m also thankful to God that I don’t look like I’m wearing “sarung nangka” when I wear it. In fact, boyfie thinks I look skinny in it. That’s an improvement because he has been complaining that I have put on weight.

There was a sea of ppl at Genting. On NY’s eve, a clear plastic box was placed in the centre of the First World Plaza stage. People came one by one onto the stage to place their donations.

A moment of silence was observed and there was no countdown when midnight came. People just quietly wish each other Happy New Year. A group of Chinese boys whom we’ve never met wished us Happy New Year and I felt heartened by their gesture.

After checking out of our apartment, we went back up to First World Plaza for lunch and some window shopping. We also caught the Motion Master show. It rained the entire time so it was really chilly. So chilly that smoke came out of our mouths when we speak. The weather was at its coldest at about 3pm.

We reached KL at about 6pm and headed straight to Suzi’s Corner, Ampang for dinner. I didn’t eat because I was still stuffed from my lunch: Thai Prawn Fried Rice and Thai Green Curry from the mall’s food court.

I arrived home just in time to catch Majalah Tiga to see a special report on the Asian tsunami tragedy.

Leave a Reply

