It’s easy to bitch and moan but more worthwhile to focus on what you’re grateful for

Image

G-dragon at his solo concert in Jakarta last weekend. Photo courtesy of G-Dragon’s Official Facebook.

Tonight, one of my life ambitions came true. Ever since I became a fan of K-pop megastar G-Dragon, I’ve dreamed of seeing him in his solo concert. I got the chance to do so just hours ago.

I’ve been to enough concerts to know that things don’t always go your way and you may leave the venue with a bad taste in your mouth. Security is too tight that they won’t allow you to even take one photo; you can’t bring in your own bottled water; the girl next to you keeps on bumping into you or screams too loudly etc etc.

A friend of mine still harps on the things that ruined her JLo concert experience at Stadium Merdeka last year. Her friend picked her up late; traffic was horrendous; the venue was too old etc etc.

I could list out a few things that I wasn’t too happy about G-Dragon’s concert earlier tonight but I don’t want to do that. I’d frankly much rather remember it for the good things that happened.

So here is my list of the things I am grateful about tonight’s concert. I am grateful that:

1. Running Into The Sun brought GD’s solo concert to Malaysia. Australian fans have been waiting for Big Bang to come and do a show in their country for so long. So I’m thankful that Kpop idols come to Malaysia all the time.

2. I got to see GD clearly without resorting to the jumbotron. I didn’t stand very near the stage but I could see him clearly enough. I’m also thankful that despite the humid weather, my glasses didn’t fog up or get greasy from my own sweat that I was able to see GD clearly.

3. I can hear. Enough said.

4. I didn’t faint or feel faint despite the heat.

5. No emergency cropped up to foil my plan to attend the concert that I had been anticipating since more than a month ago. Not even the worsening haze.

6. It was an excuse for me to meet Nate and share our love of Bigbang again. It’s always nice catching up with her in person after chatting/tweeting etc on a daily basis.

The point I’m trying make here is that it is easy to bitch and moan about things that go wrong. But, trust me, it feels 100 times better to focus on the good things and be grateful for them. Try it!

One thought on “It’s easy to bitch and moan but more worthwhile to focus on what you’re grateful for

Leave a Reply

